Governance of District Police, Alappuzha

Alappuzha Police falls under Kochi Range which comes under South Zone.

The force headed by a Superintendent of Police of IPS cadre designated as District Police Chief, comprises of Deputy Superintendent of Polices, Inspectors, Sub Inspectors, Additional and Assistant Sub Inspectors, Senior Civil Police Officers, Civil Police Officers numbering around 2200 and approximately 45000 cases are handled per annum. In addition to this, there are about 109 numbers of ministerial staffs helps the staff officers in various aspects of service and other petition matters.

The Police District is sub divided into Sub Divisions, Circles and Police Stations each headed by the officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police, Circle Inspector of Police designated as Inspector of Police and Sub Inspector of Police respectively. Special Units/Cells like District Special Branch, District Head Quarter, District Crime Records Bureau, Districts Crime Branch, Narcotic Cell, Armed Reserve and each is headed by one officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police and Women Cell, Cyber Cell under the supervision of District Crime Branch are all helps to maintain the law and order, crime prevention and crime investigation in the police district. One Tourism Protection and Police Assistance Centre starts function at Alappuzha Beach from 13/06/2014.