Cherthala Circle

0478-2813030 9497987062

The circle was formed on 21/07/1959 as per IGO 276/59 with 3 police stations namely Cherthala, Kuthiyathodu and Arookkutty and continued till 07/08/1959. Circle was reconstituted on 08/10/1959 vide IGO 452/59 dated 06/10/1959 with above 3 stations. Subsequently after the formation of Kuthiathodu circle, the police stations ie Cherthala. Poochakkal, Mararikkulam Muhamma and Arthunkal and two outposts ie Thannermukkam and Mannancherry come under the Cherthala circle. Out of the above 5 police stations 3 police stations (Muhamma, Mararikulam, Arthunkal) and two out posts were attached to newly opened Mararikulam Circle on 11/06/1994. Now Cherthala, Poochakkal police stations and Traffic Unit Cherthala are under this circle.

Sanctioned Strength of Cherthala Circle

1 1

Sub Division - Cherthala

Police Stations - Cherthala and Poochakkal

Other Units - Cherthala Traffic

Cherthala Police Station

The date of opening of this police station is not available. The police station shifted from the old police station building to another building on 01/11/1972. Now the police station is functioning in a Government building No. 13/137 of Cherthala Municipality vide order No. GO (Rt) 1770/07 dated 03/07/2007. This station is included for the implementation of Janamithry Suraksha Project as per GO (Rt) No. 3167/07 Home dated 21/11/2007.

Janamaithry Scheme commenced on 01.04.2008 as per GO(RT) No 3167/07 Home dated 21.11.2007.

Poochakkal Police Station

This police station was opened on 01/06/1996 vide order No. C1-26472/ER of IGP Thiruvananthapuram. This station is functioning in the new Government building No. VI/178 A w.e.f 26/09/2008 vide order No. GO(Rt) 530/08 Home dated 18/02/2008.

Cherthala Traffic Unit

Traffic Unit Cherthala functioning w.e.f 01/04/2003 in Government building No. XIII/127 CMC vide order No. S1-68849/02 dated 27/02/2003 of DGP Kerala.